My first Rapsberry Jam

Well last night, in preparation for getting myself a Raspberry Pi I attended the London Raspberry Pi Jam Night at the Mozilla space in London.
I won’t bore everyone with a full write up of the night and instead if you are interested, point you to my good friend The Scientific Moustache’s blog post on the night.

Instead I will be giving you my impression as a newbie at these events.

I arrived early with my friend as he is a co-organiser, and it seemed to be quite a quiet affair.
As people started turning up and getting to work with their projects and lending a hand to others with their own projects. I started to get into the spirit of the evening, lending my own advice and opinions, although very often I was proved wrong. Alas I was surrounded by new technology, and a new programming language, so I’m not surprised that I was no help.
So despite not being any help myself, I really was intrigued by some of the projects others were doing, from controlling a Lego NXT robot, to taking pictures using a webcam and controlling an Arduino Uno, to just trying to connect it to the internet.

I really can’t wait for my Model B RPi to arrive so I can start playing with it, and of course I’ll update on here with my progress.

The Raspberry Jam is in no way affliated with the Mozilla Space or the Rapsberry Pi Foundation. Raspberry Pi is a trademark of the Raspberry Pi Foundation.

Leave a Reply

